top of page
Search

My 4c Hair

This is an after poem I wrote, inspired by poet Clint Smith. His original poem, "My Jump Shot" can be found in this website: https://www.wbur.org/hereandnow/2016/11/28/clint-smith-poetry I highly recommend reading his poetry collection Counting Descent, other poetry and articles published in journals like The Atlantic. He discusses the "Black experience" in America and racial justice in many of his poems.


My 4c hair be

black like vanilla.

My 4c hair be

a halo around my head.

My 4c hair be

more coily than curly.

My 4c hair be

almost as dense as osmium.

My 4c hair be

experiencing shrinkage to the point that it defies science.

My 4c hair be

so hard to comb and maintain.

My 4c hair be

painful for my tender head.

My 4c hair be

like silly putty for the kid behind me in class.

My 4c hair be

smelling like African shea butter and castor oil on the bus.

My 4c hair be

drinking up coconut oil and jojoba oil.

My 4c hair be

kept in protective styles most of the time.

My 4c hair be

wrapped in some straight blond hair that people think is mine too.

My 4c hair be

turning from nappy into *darling in 4-6 hours.

My 4c hair be

code-switching.

My 4c hair be

making people suspicious just because it’s 4c hair.

My 4c hair be

the only 4c hair in class.

My 4c hair be

short like the expectations they have for me.

My 4c hair be

seen as less beautiful than mixed girl hair.

My 4c hair be

too unprofessional for a formal event.

My 4c hair be

questioning it’s worth for a long time.

My 4c hair be

a tangle of history

My 4c hair be

the only 4c hair I’ve ever known.


*The hair bundles/extensions I buy for braids are from a Kenyan company called Darling



38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page