top of page
Search

Open Mic Poem!

Updated: Mar 1, 2021

Yes, you read that right! I did something exciting recently!


I recited an original poem at my first open mic! The virtual teen open mic was centered around Black History Month and all performers were required to present something inspired by or about an influential person from Black history. So, as Black History Month comes to a close and Women's History Month rounds the corner, I invite you to listen to and read my poem "Prolific."

 


Prolific


What do I want to be?

I used to say a star

shining bright

with luminous rings

dancing about

in the reflection of their eyes


But what good is a flame that

will burst

after all

in smithereens

and only be remembered

to have burned?


No.


I want to be prolific

and bear the fruit of my labor

In overflow;

tantalizing mangos

rejuvenating citrus

peculiar papaya

tumbling out from me


Speaking to the continuous truth

that spins from my tongue

like a hunger that can’t be

fed from the smoke of a

star


Yes.


I want to be prolific like

Wangare Maathai

the first African woman

to receive the Nobel Peace Prize

for her bounteous replication of foliage


She bore the fruit of her labor

In overflow;

51 million trees

and counting

planted from her

Green Belt Movement

that began in 1977


Awarded "for her

contribution to

sustainable development,

democracy and

peace."


A Kenyan scholar

born in Nyeri

and of the Kikuyu tribe

whose accomplishments

impact many


Now I know

what I want to be


Prolific.


I, Andrea Agola

a Kenyan-American scholar

born in Nairobi

and of the Kikuyu, Luhya and Luo tribes

whose accomplishments

will impact many


63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by Our lives, a Different Kind of Crochet.

bottom of page